Laredo Sector Border Patrol presented the Youth of the Month honorees for November at a ceremony hosted by the Julieta & Frank Staggs Academy of International and STEM Studies on Wednesday, November 20.  

The Laredo Sector Border Patrol along with community partners, educators, and family came together to celebrate the incredible achievements and accomplishments of 11 high school seniors from Laredo area high schools, with the prestigious Youth of the Month Award.

“Each of you is unique so never try to copy one another.  Continue to think big because your thinking has the power to change the world,” said Assistant Chief Patrol Agent Casey H. Adams, “Remember there is hidden greatness within each and every one of you.  Continue expanding your wings and you will discover that the sky is the limit.  Thank you for everything you are doing to inspire me and others today!”

Through the Youth of the Month program the Laredo Sector Border Patrol, in collaboration with community partners, has recognized Laredo’s top high school seniors for over 30 years.  At the end of the school year, 11 Youth of the Month recipients are considered for the prestigious Border Patrol Youth of the Year award that is awarded in May.

The following students were chosen as the Youth of the Month for November:

St. Augustine High School                                                                  Sofia Marianna Martinez

R&T Martin High School                                                                   Jorge Vargas

Lyndon B. Johnson High School                                                        Major Moncivais

Dr. Leonides G. Cigarroa High School                                              Alexis Renteria

J.W. Nixon High School                                                                      Yanellie Chapa

John B. Alexander High School                                                          Maria Fernanda Chavez

Hector J. Garcia Early College High School                                     Jorge Chacon

Harmony School of Excellence                                                           Israel Demandel

United South High School                                                                  Anthony Hernandez Escobar

United High School                                                                            Nicolas A. Banda

Staggs Academy of International and STEM Studies                         Emma Guerrero